Reviews

Family of 16 spent amazing time in the Craiglea Lodge. Kids didn't want to go back home, Pool and a house very clean, fresh linen and plenty of attraction for everyone. Surprised with lots of games to play, table tennis, kids toys for swimming pool. Lucky with the weather used barbecue and spent plenty of time for walks around. Fully equipped kitchen. We have been touched with friendly people around in the village and fresh farm eggs left for us for breakfast. Mary and Tracy looked after us with outstanding, friendly service. We wish to come back again. 

 

VRBO Review – 24th May 2021 *****

We come back today from Craiglea lodge and what can say It’s very lovely place and house, beautiful views. Big house plenty room for everybody TV, wifi , dishwasher everything working. Clean nice and tidy house everything was perfect – rooms very clean. In the morning we get fresh eggs for breakfast.  Great swimming pool area and sauna.  Lovely place for everybody.  I’m really recommended. We come back again to Craiglea lodge on September!

ssimp11 – Buckie, Scotland – Reviewed 1 January 2021
Fantastic large property with pool

We recently stayed at Craiglea and it was fantastic! Having read a few previous reviews I had my concerns but on arriving at Latheronwheel none of these were relevant. The property is large and well decorated, all the beds were comfortable and plenty of towels provided for bathrooms and for pool use. The swimming pool was amazing, very warm room with lots of seating space around and speaker system for playing music (although connection was for iPhone only). There was no issues with heating or hot water so showering regardless of time of day was no problem. The main house has 6 lovely bedrooms and the barn is a great separate dwelling.
There was plenty of seating in lounge and dining room and plenty cutlery and crockery in kitchen.

We shopped at butcher who is a few doors down from house, lovely man and very helpful. We also got eggs from local chicken farm which were excellent. The nearest shop is a few miles north in Lybster it is a small Premier express but they had a great variety for a local store. We did a bigger shop at Wick Tesco which is about 20 mins away. The playpark down the road from house was excellent for the kids and they loved the Fairy walk which is near the harbour. There is so much to do outside locally especially places to walk, check out the Whaligo steps we enjoyed it there.

Avi the owner was so helpful with all my questions before we arrived and Mary who met us on arrival was lovely. 

Overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely be back as soon as we can.

TripAdvisor Review – 22 September 2020 – Relaxing week Jo_emma, Falkirk

We stayed here for a week as a family of 9 (6 adults 3 kids) The house is fantastic! Huge, beautiful location and the pool was so much fun. The house itself is in a great location on the nc500 and we had great days out within driving distance of the house. It had everything we needed in the house and it is well equipped. The only thing that could have been better would have been a drying area outside (a lot of pool towels needed to dry daily!) And a larger fridge freezer. The pool area is a fantastic addition to the house and we spent most of our time in there. The owners were friendly and easy to contact. There is a great butchers around the corner from the house and a lovely harbour within walking distance

TripAdvisor Review – 1 Sept 20 – deborahgN7780YY – fantastic summer holiday

We spent two weeks at Craiglea lodge and had an amazing time. The house is fully equipped with everything you need and the pool is an amazing feature. Lots of beautiful places to visit in the surrounding areas.

TripAdvisor Review – 28th July 2020Fantastic View and Nice Swimming Pool (Reza S)

We got into the cottage only 2 days after the lockdown ease. There are plenty of rooms with shower/bath facilities.  The pool is warm and fantastic and sanitises consistently. We enjoyed it a lot. There are nearby small small shops and bigger ones within 20 minutes drive. 10 minutes walk will take you to a fantastic cliff facing the sea; you can walk back to the cottage from the forest route which has an exciting miniature fairyland site. We had kids and they also enjoyed as much as adults.  We had no problem in receiving our deposit swiftly and there were attending staff in case any urgent matters arised during our stay. We will definitely come back again. Thank you Avi.

TripAdvisor Review – November 2019 – Lovely family holiday home! (maree79chris)

Lovely place to stay if you have a large family and need plenty of room And the bonus is the swimming pool our kids just loved it . Plenty of places to see in the area

Thank you for such a wonderful time. You made us feel really welcome.

See you next year without a doubt!!!

Its a VERY beautiful country. I don't want to leave!!!

The Gower Family

We have really enjoyed our stay at Craiglea, it is amazing how quick a week goes, maybe next time we will make Orkney (possibly an early morning wake-up call too).

Thank you to Mike and Catherine for all your information and help during our stay.

Wonderful holiday cottage in every way and we hope to see you again soon.

The Thomson Family

UK - July 2008

We have had a great time here at Craiglea in the barn. The kids have loved it too! Spent lots of time in the pool, the weather has been great and the scenery is just fantastic (the horse riding was great too)!

Many thanks to Mike for all his information and for his very friendly and relaxed manner.

Would love to come again in the near future.

The Hemmings Family

UK - August 2008

We have had a great time. The trip to Orkney is so worth doing, as is the wildlife tour. The kids have loved the pool and trampoline whilst our parents have loved the peace and quiet. Culloden is well worth a visit.

Thanks to Mike and Catherine for making us so welcome and recommending places to go.

The Usher Family

UK - August 2008

Just wanted to thank you again for a lovely week in Scotland. We had a great time and really loved Craiglea. It was such an ideal place for us to go with our families. Having the whole food thing taken care of was so helpful and really made the vacation enjoyable. And we loved the BBQ!

Mike is amazing. I can't tell you how helpful he was and how nice it was to know that we could turn to him with any questions etc. By the end of the trip even the kids were talking about Mike and asking if he could go on the trampoline with them.

The Stafler Party

UK - Aug/Sep 2008

Many thanks, for the wonderful time, your great manager Mike, and his wife Cathy, showed us, when we had the pleasure of staying at your Craiglea resort last week. Mike is a wonderful credit to your organization, his knowledge of the area seems endless, and nothing seemed to be any trouble for him.

Thanks also for putting this wonderful idea of yours on the map, so that people from this part of the world can enjoy the amazing beauty of the Scottish Highlands. I am also very grateful for the many outings you suggested. We were able to visit the Orkney Islands, observe falconry first hand and some off-road 4 wheel driving!

I am forwarding copies of this to colleagues and friends to let them know what an awesome facility you have, and how well run it is.

I look forward to return to the Highlands soon, and I shall also tell people what a great 4 star resort you manage. Many thanks once again.

Mark and Jaquie Hatch

USA - Sep 2007

Gracious hosts and warm welcome. Craiglea was just the most delightful place for our whole family to make a quick getaway and experience a truly unforgettable Highland holiday. With the most glorious surroundings to help unwind and yet so much to see and do, we cannot wait to return and explore some more. Our family Highland highlights being the stunning sea and fishing trips and getting to see all that natural wonderful wildlife on our doorstep. Thank you so much again.

The Davis Family

UK - Easter 2008

In late July of this year, our client took their senior management team away for three days on a training and strategy break. Craiglea in Latheronwheel provided the ideal location to develop ideas, learn new concepts and bond as a team.

The accommodation was modern and comfortable, while the cottages had a traditional feel, including well equipped kitchens and open fireplaces. The size of the living rooms in the two adjacent cottages allowed us to train one large group or break off into smaller teams. The use of an indoor swimming pool was also particularly welcoming after a hard day's work.

The scenery was stunning (despite the occasional rain!) and inspiring, and really added to the feeling of leaving the everyday hassles of London behind. The days were also nicely broken up by activities such as clay pigeon shooting and taking an informative trip out to sea. A special mention must also go to both
John and Mike who were exceptionally informative and helpful and really made us feel welcome.

I would highly recommend Craiglea for either a unique corporate event or as an escape away from it all with friends and family.

Jon Harrison (Ink Publishing)

UK - July 2007

It's been an interesting couple of months for me. I've been all over the place and literally from one extreme to the other.

I started off May spending a weekend in the wilds of Scotland at Craiglea House in Latheronwheel. This Scottish Highlands hideaway offers privacy and seclusion and really is something completely different from the norm. The lodges are furnished in a very contemporary style and although rustic from the outside are very modern and bristling with high tech gadgets inside, Latheronwheel itself is the most gorgeous little fishing village with a track leading down to the most romantic harbours around.

However, I wasn't there for romance, I had to don my Hunter wellies and head out into the fantastically fresh air exploring some of the varied country pursuits available to guests. Spending the day with the local ghillie we had a chance to hunt clay pigeons, (thankfully nearly all survived], and head into the wilds on a 4 x 4 safari, all I can say is wow! It's a great way to get muddy without worrying about getting one's Sarbour dirty! If you crave privacy and fresh air, this really is the place for you.

Zibrant (Venue Finding Specialist's Familiarization Trip)

UK - Aug 2007 Edition

I just wanted to say thank you, we have had such a lovely time in Craiglea, we have really enjoyed being in the house, with the 4 families, the area
is so stunning, and i am sure when i come back i will have plenty of people asking me about Craiglea. I hope to visit Craiglea again maybe in a
different time of year, even though we were very lucky with the weather.

Please can you thank the owners from us, as we found it so easy everything being there and being able to use the equipment made it so much
easier for us.

The Ambalo Party

UK - Octber 2009

To leave a reveiw for your stay at Craiglea Lodge visit the platforms:-